Thompson, Tracey win national 100m titles

todayJune 23, 2018 14

share close

DEFENDING champion Elaine Thompson retained her national 100 metres title on Friday night at the JAAA/Supreme Ventures Limited National Senior and Junior Championships.    Drawn in lane seven, Thompson was not  the best away but came storming through late to catch Shelly Ann Fraser-Pryce close home. Thompson clocked 11.01 seconds to lead an MVP Track Club sweep of the top three places. Fraser-Pryce was second in 11.09  while Shericka Jackson took third in a personal best  11.13.
The men’s 100m went to Tyquendo Tracey in 10.07. There was a lot of drama in the semi-finals of this event. Semi-final one winner Yohan Blake ran under protest after a false start and he was not included in the final. Kenroy Anderson took second in 10.24 with third going to veteran Nesta Carter in 10.31. Pre-race favourite Julian Forte of MVP failed to finish after grabbing his hamstring at the 70m mark.
Janieve Russell and Annsert Whyte  are the respective men’s and women’s 400m hurdles champions.

In the female event , Russell, drawn in lane four,  kept her composure well as defending champion Rhonda Whyte changed her usual race tactics and went out very fast from lane five.  Russell  came through at the seventh hurdle and went on to win in an impressive 54.18 seconds . Leah Nugent, 54.70,  was second and Whyte finished third in a personal best 54.90. Swept Track Club’s Rushell Clayton produced a personal best 55.08 for fourth.
Annsert Whyte clocked a season’s best 48.81 to win the men’s race.  Favourite Andre Clarke, the fastest Jamaican in the event this season, was never in contention as Whyte held off  the late challenge of Shawn Rowe who was second in 49.04. Last year’s runner-up, Kemar Mowatt, was third in 49.16.

Written by: admin

Rate it

Post comments (0)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *